G7 Information Centre
Summits |  Meetings |  Publications |  Research |  Search |  Home |  About the G7 and G8 Research Group
Follow @g7_rg

Statement of G7 Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors

March 17, 2011
[Version française]

We, the G7 Finance Ministers and central bank governors, discussed the recent dramatic events in Japan and were briefed by our Japanese colleagues on the current situation and the economic and financial response put in place by the authorities.

We express our solidarity with the Japanese people in these difficult times, our readiness to provide any needed cooperation and our confidence in the resilience of the Japanese economy and financial sector.

In response to recent movements in the exchange rate of the yen associated with the tragic events in Japan, and at the request of the Japanese authorities, the authorities of the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, and the European Central Bank will join with Japan, on March 18, 2011, in concerted intervention in exchange markets. As we have long stated, excess volatility and disorderly movements in exchange rates have adverse implications for economic and financial stability. We will monitor exchange markets closely and will cooperate as appropriate.

[back to top]

Source: Department of Finance Canada


G7 Information Centre

Top of Page
This Information System is provided by the University of Toronto Library and the G7 and G8 Research Group at the University of Toronto.
Please send comments to: g8@utoronto.ca
This page was last updated March 17, 2011.

All contents copyright © 2017. University of Toronto unless otherwise stated. All rights reserved.

G7 Information Centre
Summits |  Meetings |  Publications |  Research |  Search |  Home |  About the G7 and G8 Research Group
Follow @g7_rg

Déclaration des ministres des finances et des gouverneurs des banques centrales du G7

17 mars 2011
[English version]

Nous, Ministres des Finances et Gouverneurs de banque centrale du G7, nous sommes réunis pour aborder les tragiques évènements survenus récemment au Japon et nos collègues Japonais nous ont informés de la situation actuelle et de la réponse économique et financière apportée par les autorités.

Nous tenons à exprimer notre solidarité envers les Japonais en ces temps difficiles, notre disposition à fournir toute coopération requise ainsi que notre confiance dans la solidité de l’économie japonaise et de son secteur financier.

En réponse aux récents mouvements du taux de change du yen associés aux évènements tragiques survenus au Japon, et à la demande des autorités japonaises, les autorités des Etats-Unis, de Grande-Bretagne, du Canada et la Banque centrale européenne se joindront au Japon, le 18 mars 2011, pour une intervention concertée sur les marchés des changes. Comme nous l’avons souligné depuis longtemps, la volatilité excessive et les mouvements désordonnés des taux de change ont des conséquences négatives pour la stabilité économique et financière. Nous continuerons à suivre avec attention l’évolution des marchés et à collaborer si nécessaire.

[retour en haut]

Source: Ministère des Finances Canada


G7 Information Centre

Top of Page
This Information System is provided by the University of Toronto Library and the G7 and G8 Research Group at the University of Toronto.
Please send comments to: g8@utoronto.ca
This page was last updated March 17, 2011.

All contents copyright © 2017. University of Toronto unless otherwise stated. All rights reserved.