The Significance of the Seven-Power Summit
by John Kirton


7. The allied institutions of the seven-power summit are the Group of Five Finance Ministers expanded into the Group of Seven Finance Ministers at the Tokyo summit of 1986, the Trade Ministers Quadrilateral, "summit seven" foreign ministers' meetings on the margins of the UN General Assembly, and the one-time gathering called by President Reagan (minus France) to deal with arms control and East-West relations vis--vis the Soviet Union. Below the ministerial level there exist: the Group of Seven Finance deputies; and seven-power groups at lower levels to operate summit-created regimes on airline hijacking, the spread of ballistic missile technologies, and other subjects. In early 1988 West German Foreign Minister Hans-Dietrich Genscher also called for a special meeting of the foreign ministers of the summit countries. On the role of the Group of Seven Finance Ministers, see Yoichi Funabashi, Managing the Dollar: From the Plaza to the Louvre (Washington, D.C.: Institute for International Economics, 1988).

[Back to