G7 Information Centre
Summits |  Meetings |  Publications |  Research |  Search |  Home |  About the G7 and G8 Research Group
Follow @g7_rg

Statement on Southern Africa

July 15, 1989, Paris
[Unofficial Translation]
[Français]

The Summit participants express their condemnation of apartheid and their determination to work for a democratic South Africa without racial discrimination. In this respect they urgently demand that the South African Government take concrete steps to begin negotiations with the black majority.

They insist that the Government free Nelson Mandela, and the other political prisoners, that an end be put to the state of emergency and to the interdiction of the ANC [African National Congress], of the UDF [United Democratic Front] and of the other organizations, and that the discriminatory legislation be repealed.

The Summit participants are pleased with the progress achieved toward the implementation of Resolution 435 of the Security Council for the independence of Namibia and ask all parties concerned to see that nothing hinders the process. They hope that the recent Summit meeting of eighteen African Heads of State in Gbadolite will lead to the peaceful settlement of the civil war in Angola and that progress will be made in the search for a solution to the conflict in Mozambique.

Source: Released by the Summit of the Arch


G7 Information Centre

Top of Page
This Information System is provided by the University of Toronto Library and the G7 and G8 Research Group at the University of Toronto.
Please send comments to: g8@utoronto.ca
This page was last updated January 27, 2016.

All contents copyright © 2017. University of Toronto unless otherwise stated. All rights reserved.

G7 Information Centre
Summits |  Meetings |  Publications |  Research |  Search |  Home |  About the G7 and G8 Research Group
Follow @g7_rg

Communiqué de la Présidence: Afrique Australe

15 juillet 1989, Paris
[English]

Les participants au Sommet expriment leur condamnation de l'apartheid et leur détermination à travailler pour une Afrique du Sud démocratique, sans discrimination raciale. A cet égard ils demandent instamment au Gouvernement Sud africain de prendre des mesures concrètes pour commencer des négociations avec la majorité noire.

Ils insistent pour que le Gouvernement libère Nelson Mandela, et les autres prisonniers politiques, pour qu'il soit mis fin à l'état d'urgence, à l'interdiction de l'ANC [African National Congress], de l'UDF [United Democratic Front] et des autres organisations, et pour l'abrogation de la législation discriminatoire.

Les participants au Sommet se félicitent des progrès réalisés pour la mise en oeuvre de la résolution 435 du Conseil de Sécurité pour l'indépendance de la Namibie et demande à toutes les parties concernées de veiller à ce que rien n'entrave le processus. Ils espèrent que la réecente rencontre au Sommet des dix-huit Chefs d'Etat africains à Gbadolite conduira à un réglement pacifique de la guerre civile en Angola et que des progrès seront faits pour la recherche d'une solution au conflit du Mozambique.

[back to top]

Source: Publi au Sommet de l'Arche


G7 Information Centre

Top of Page
This Information System is provided by the University of Toronto Library and the G7 and G8 Research Group at the University of Toronto.
Please send comments to: g8@utoronto.ca
This page was last updated January 27, 2016.

All contents copyright © 2017. University of Toronto unless otherwise stated. All rights reserved.