G7 Information Centre
Summits |  Meetings |  Publications |  Research |  Search |  Home |  About the G7 and G8 Research Group
Follow @g7_rg

Statement on the Arab-Israeli Confict

July 15, 1989, Paris
[Unofficial Translation]
[Français]

The Summit participants remain profoundly concerned about the situation in the Near East.

Certain recent partisan declarations in Israel, the persistent violence in the occupied territories, as well as the deterioration of living conditions in the West Bank and in Gaza show more clearly than ever that a solution concerning the legitimate political rights of the Palestinian people, as well as the right to security of all of the states in the region, including Israel, is once again an urgent necessity.

More than ever, the time has come to open a dialogue between the concerned parties, with a view toward negotiation.

The seven nations consider that the elections proposed for the occupied territories could mark a positive step toward mutual recognition, to the extent that they take place in an atmosphere of free expression and that they form part of a global settlement of territorial disputes that present obstacles to peace.

Furthermore, the seven nations believe that the holding, at the appropriate time, of an international conference structured in an appropriate manner would constitute a framework adapted to promoting direct dialogue among all the parties and to dealing with all of the related problems whose solution governs a peaceful settlement in the Near East.

Source: Released at the Summit of the Arch


G7 Information Centre

Top of Page
This Information System is provided by the University of Toronto Library and the G7 and G8 Research Group at the University of Toronto.
Please send comments to: g8@utoronto.ca
This page was last updated January 27, 2016.

All contents copyright © 2017. University of Toronto unless otherwise stated. All rights reserved.

G7 Information Centre
Summits |  Meetings |  Publications |  Research |  Search |  Home |  About the G7 and G8 Research Group
Follow @g7_rg

Communiqué de la Présidence: Conflit Israëlo-Arabe

15 juillet 1989, Paris
[English]

Les participants au Sommet restent profondément préoccupés par la situation au Proche Orient.

Certaines récentes déclarations partisanes en Israël, la violence persistante dans les territoires occupés, ainsi que la détérioration des conditions de vie en Cisjordanie et à Gaza montrent plus clairement que jamais qu'une solution respectant les droits politiques légitimes du peuple palestinien ainsi que le droit à la sécurité de tous les Etats de la Région, y compris Israël, revêt une nécessité urgente.

Plus que jamais, le temps est venu pour l'ouverture d'un dialogue entre les parties concernées en vue d'une négociation.

Les Sept pays considèrent que les élections en projet pour les territoires occupés pourraient marquer un pas en avant vers une reconnaissance mutuelle pour autant qu'elles aient lieu dans une atmosphère de libre expression et qu'elles fassent partie d'un réglement global sur la base des territoires contre la paix.

En outre, les Sept pays pensent que la réunion, le moment venu, d'une conférence internationale structurée de manière appropriée constituerait un cadre adapté pour promouvoir un dialogue direct entre toutes les parties et pour traiter tous les problèmes liés dont la solution commande un réglement pacifique au Proche Orient.

Source: Publi au Sommet de l'Arche


G7 Information Centre

Top of Page
This Information System is provided by the University of Toronto Library and the G7 and G8 Research Group at the University of Toronto.
Please send comments to: g8@utoronto.ca
This page was last updated January 27, 2016.

All contents copyright © 2017. University of Toronto unless otherwise stated. All rights reserved.