G7 Information Centre
Summits |  Meetings |  Publications |  Research |  Search |  Home |  About the G7 and G8 Research Group
Follow @g7_rg

Text of the Letter Sent by Mikhail Gorbachev to the President of France

July 15, 1989, Paris
[Unofficial Translation]
[Français]

Mr. President:

I address myself to you in your capacity as president of the 15th annual economic conference of the leaders of the seven countries, which will take place in Paris on July 15 and 16, and through you to the other participants in that meeting. I would like to share with you some ideas about the key problems of the world economy which exert their influence on all countries without exception.

Interdependence, while helping to overcome the division of the world, greatly increases the risk of conflicts of interest, and of the explosion of contradictions.

Traditionally, to resolve economic contradictions between States it was sufficient to find an equilibrium on the basis of strictly national interests. However, today such an equilibrium would be precarious if one tried to base it on anything other than the universal interests of humankind.

A true equilibrium, a stable interdependence, can result only from complementary actions. An objective process in the formation of a cohesive world economy implies that the multilateral economic partnership be placed on a qualitatively new level.

We observe with interest the efforts made by the seven most highly developed States of the Western world to enhance the coordination of macroeconomic policy. Thanks to this coordination, we consider it possible to make world economic processes more predictable. This is an important premise for guaranteeing international economic security.

On the topic of economic security, we have in mind above all else the formation of bases for stable, de-ideologized, and mutually advantageous co-creation and for joint development.

Like other countries, the Soviet Union seeks to complete the task of adapting its national economy to a new structure of the international division of labor which is developing. Our perestroika is inseparable from the policy that aims at full and complete participation in the world economy. That orientation, which is in keeping with current political thought, is equally determined by our direct economic interest. But it is clear the rest of the world can only gain from the opening up to the world economy of a market like that of the USSR. Of course, mutual advantage implies mutual responsibility and respect for the rights of all the participants in international economic relations.

There exist many contradictions in these relations. At a minimum, it is necssary that the area of common, convergent interests of States be sufficiently large and appropriate as a basis for interaction. The proof of this is furnished notably by the positive changes in bilateral economic ties between the Soviet Union and many Western nations, by the agreements reached in Vienna on the "second basket" of cooperation in Europe, by the establishment of CMEA-EEC [Council for Mutual Economic Co-operation-European Economic Community] relationships.

Nevertheless, multilateral East-West cooperation on global economic problems finds itself manifestly behind in comparison to the development of bilateral and regional ties. This state of affairs does not seem justified considering the impact of our States on the world economy, and the responsibility which they have for its rational and efficient functioning, for the good of each country's citizens and of the world community in general.

The Soviet Union declares itself in favor of constructive, prejudice-free interaction aimed at completing these tasks through common efforts. We see the points of convergence and complementarity in the approaches taken by the States to global problems, in particular the settlement of Third World indebtedness. It matters little who receives the credit for the best initiative. What is essential is that there exists a real possibility of contributing together to effective, practical measures in the area of debt settlement.

We are in favor of collective assistance to development, in favor of coordinating the actions of creditors and debtors, of donors and debt-collectors, in favor of extending multilateral forms of aid. This could become one of the considerable material guarantees for the participation of developing countries -- with equal rights and responsibilities -- in the world economy.

Some propositions are being assembled for a consensus on the means of assuring stable development of all States; this implies the formation of secure ecological guidelines for the structure of the unified world economy being built today.

Another problem that is common to us concerns the tendencies toward integration, which are growing more and more vigorous in various regions of the world. We want such development to go in the direction of a universal partnership. Today's way of life is destroying--albeit progressively and with much difficulty--the old artificial barriers between different economic systems. Although each system keeps its characteristic traits, they have borrowed a great deal from one another, utilizing similar tools of management.

It is becoming urgent that we understand each other concerning the methodology for measuring and harmonizing economic processes, a methodology acceptable to all countries and for universal use. Looking ahead, the question could be also one of research on the procedures for putting in place, on a global scale, the various mechanisms of macroeconomic coordination.

We are ready to engage in a constructive dialogue on these questions. To start this, one could establish professional contacts in various areas, for example, in the form of meetings of government experts. It is important to determine a common economic language at the start, to proceed to a reciprocal exchange of information, including questions on basic indicators of economic development, on regulation of lines of credit, and on aid to the Third World, so as to assure the methodological compatibility of statistical data as a point of departure for collaboration.

I hope that these reflections will be useful for the participants in the Paris Summit meeting and that its results will lead to a search for balance among national, regional, and universal economic interests.

Respectfully,
M. Gorbachev

Source: Released at the Summit of the Arch. Note: This is not an official summit document (P. Hajnal).


G7 Information Centre

Top of Page
This Information System is provided by the University of Toronto Library and the G7 and G8 Research Group at the University of Toronto.
Please send comments to: g8@utoronto.ca
This page was last updated January 27, 2016.

All contents copyright © 2017. University of Toronto unless otherwise stated. All rights reserved.

G7 Information Centre
Summits |  Meetings |  Publications |  Research |  Search |  Home |  About the G7 and G8 Research Group
Follow @g7_rg

Texte de la lettre adressée par M. Mikhail Gorbachev
au Président de la République française

14 juillet 1989, Paris
[English]

Monsieur le Président,

En m'adressant à vous en votre qualité de président de la XVe conférence économique annuelle des dirigeants des sept pays qui se tiendra à Paris les 15 et 16 juillet, et à travers vous aux autres participants à cette réunion, je tiens à vous faire part de quelques idées sur les problèmes-clés de l'économie mondiale qui exercent leur influence sur tous les pays sans exception.

L'interdépendance, tout en aidant à surmonter la division du monde, augmente considérablement le risque du heurt des intérêts, de l'explosion des contradictions.

Traditionnellement, pour résoudre les contradictions économiques entre Etats il était suffisant de trouver un équilibre sur la base des intérêts strictement nationaux. Toutefois, aujourd'hui un tel équilibre serait précaire si on essayait de l'asseoir sur autre chose que les intérêts universels de l'humanité.

Atteindre un véritable équilibre, assurer à l'interdépendance un caractère stable ne peut être que le fruit d'actions complémentaires. Un processus objectif de la formation de l'économie mondiale cohérente implique que le partenariat multilatéral économique soit placé à un niveau qualitativement nouveau.

Nous observons avec intérêt les efforts déployés par les sept Etats les plus développés du monde occidental en vue de mettre au point la coordination de la politique macroéconomique. Nous estimons qu'il est possible, grâce à la coordination, de rendre les processus de l'économie mondiale plus prévisibles. Or, ceci est une prémisse importante afin de garantir la séecurité économique internationale.

S'agissant de la sécurité économique, nous avons à l'esprit avant toute chose la formation de bases pour la cocréation stable, déidéologisée et mutuellement avantageuse et pour le codéveloppement.

Tout comme d'autres pays, l'Union Soviétique cherche à résoudre les tâches consistant à adapter son économie nationale à une nouvelle structure de la division internationale du travail en gestation. Notre perestroïka est inséparable de la politique tendant à la participation pleine et entière à l'économie mondiale. Cette orientation-là, s'inscrivant dans le droit fil de la nouvelle pensée politique, est déterminée également par notre intérêt économique direct. Mais à l'évidence le reste du monde ne pourra que gagner à l'ouverture en direction de l'économie mondiale du marché tel que celui de l'URSS. Bien entendu, l'avantage mutuel suppose la responsabilité mutuelle et le respect des droits de tous les participants aux relations économiques internationales.

Il subsiste dans le domaine de ces relations pas mal de contradictions. Il n'en reste pas moins que la zone des intérêts communs, convergents des Etats est suffisamment large et peut servir de base à l'interaction. La preuve en est fournie notamment par les changements positifs intervenus dans les liens éeconomiques bilatéraux de l'Union Soviétique avec beaucoup de pays occidentaux, par les ententes acquises à Vienne en matière de la "deuxième corbeille" de la coopération en Europe, par l'établissement des rapports CAEM-CEE.

Cependant la coopération multilatérale Est-Ouest sur les problèmes économiques globaux se trouve manifestement en retrait par rapport au développement des liens bilatéraux et régionaux. Ct état de choses ne paraît pas justifié compte tenu de poids de nos Etats dans l'économie mondiale, de la responsabilité qui est la leur dans son fonctionnement rationnel et efficace pour le bien de chaque peuple et de la communauté mondiale en général.

L'Union Soviétique se prononce pour une interaction constructive et libre de préjugés visant à résoudre ces tâches par les efforts communs. Nous voyons les points de convergence et la complémentarité dans les approches qu'ont les parties des problèmes globaux, en particulier du règlement de l'endettement de tiers monde. Peu importe de savoir à qui reviendra le mérite de la meilleure initiative. L'essentiel consiste à ce qu'il existe une possibilité réelle de contribuer ensemble à l'efficacité des mesures pratiques dans la sphère du règlement de la dette.

Nous sommes en faveur d'une assistance collective au développement, en faveur de la coordination des actions de créanciers et de débiteurs, de donneurs et de ceux qui recouvrent, en faveur de l'extension des formes d'aide multilatérales. Ceci peut devenir une des garanties matérielles considérables pour la participation égale en droits et responsable des pays en voie de développement à l'économie mondiale.

Des prémisses sont en train d'être réunies également pour le consensus sur les voies d'assurer un développement stable de tous les Etats, ce qui suppose la formation des stabilisateurs écologiques sûrs de l'édifice d'économie mondiale unie que l'on construit aujourd'hui.

Un autre problème qui nous est commun est lié aux tendances à l'intégration, qui prennent de plus en plus de vigueur dans diverses régions du monde. Nous voulans que leur développement aille dans le sens d'un partenariat universel. Aujourd'hui la vie elle-même détruit -- progressivement et à grand-peine mais quand même détruit -- les vieux obstacles dressés de façon artificielle entre différents systèmes économiques. Bien que chaque système conserve ses traits caractéristiques, ils ont emprunté beaucoup l'un à l'autre, utilisent les outils de gestion similaires.

Il devient urgent à nous entendre sur la méthodologie de mesure et d'harmonisation des processus économiques, méthodologie acceptable pour tous les pays et à usage universel. En perspective il pourra s'agir aussi des recherches de procédés pour faire arrimer, à l'échelle globale, les différents mécanismes de coordination macroéconomique.

Nous sommes prêts à engager un dialogue constructif sur ces questions. Pour le démarrer on pourrait établir les contacts professionnels dans divers domaines, par exemple sous forme de rencontres des experts gouvernementaux. Il importe ici de trouver dès le début un langage économique commun, procéder à un échange réciproque d'information, y compris sur les questions d'indicateurs de base du développement économique, de la régulation des liens de crédit et d'aide au tiers monde afin d'assurer la compatibilité méthodologique des données statistiques en tant que point de départ de la collaboration.

J'espère que ces réflexions seront utiles pour les participants de la rencontre au sommet de Paris et que les résultats de celle-ci iront dans le sens de recherches de l'équilibre des intérêts économiques nationaux, régionaux et universels.

Avec mes respects,
M. Gorbatchev

[retour en haut]

Source: Publi au Sommet de l'Arche. Note: Cette lettre n'est pas un document officiel du sommet (P. Hajnal).


G7 Information Centre

Top of Page
This Information System is provided by the University of Toronto Library and the G7 and G8 Research Group at the University of Toronto.
Please send comments to: g8@utoronto.ca
This page was last updated January 27, 2016.

All contents copyright © 2017. University of Toronto unless otherwise stated. All rights reserved.