G7 Information Centre
Summits |  Meetings |  Publications |  Research |  Search |  Home |  About the G7 and G8 Research Group
Follow @g7_rg

Report of the Nuclear Safety and Security Group

Deauville, May 26-27, 2011 (published May 27, 2011)
[Version française]

Earthquake and Tsunami in Japan
NSSG Policy Agenda
   Nuclear Safety
   Radioactive Waste Management and Decommissioning
International Initiative on 3S-Based Nuclear Energy Infrastructure
Chernobyl Nuclear Power Plant Projects
Modernization and Upgrade of Ukrainian Nuclear Power Plants


At the Kananaskis Summit, the G8 Leaders agreed to establish the G8 Nuclear Safety and Security Group (NSSG). The NSSG, responsible to Leaders, through Sherpas, provide technically informed, strategic policy advice on issues that could impact safety and security in the peaceful use of nuclear energy, in close co-operation with multilateral organizations and avoiding duplication of tasks or responsibilities that are addressed adequately by existing organizations or entities.

[top]

Earthquake and Tsunami in Japan

The NSSG expressed to the Japanese people its deepest sympathy and offered their condolences for the devastation caused by the massive earthquake and the tsunami. The Group praised the courage, composure and resilience of the Japanese people throughout these hardships.

The tsunami caused by the earthquake adversely impacted several Japanese nuclear reactors. Considering that all-out efforts are being made to mitigate the situation and to analyze the sequence of events and to identify lessons, the NSSG considered that the question of the safe and secure use of nuclear energy should be addressed as a key priority on the G8 agenda.

[top]

NSSG Policy Agenda

Under the 2011 French Presidency, France proposed to address four points: nuclear safety, nuclear liability, radioactive waste management and management of the decommissioning process with the objective to highlight into the G8 Leaders' declaration the importance of these points for the safe and responsible use of nuclear energy.

[top]

1. Nuclear Safety

In the context of the Fukushima events, the NSSG decided to make nuclear safety and its challenges the primary focus of NSSG work under the French Presidency. The NSSG agreed that the G8 should endorse a strong political statement on nuclear safety, drawn from the following views.

The first priority is to learn any immediate lessons from the Fukushima accident. The NSSG welcomed the initiative taken by many countries to carry out comprehensive risk and safety assessments of their existing nuclear installations, and invited all other countries operating nuclear installations to launch similar assessments as soon as possible;

Such assessments should be carried out in the light of lessons identified from recent events, bearing in mind a multiplicity of factors, such as resilience to external shocks, including but not limited to cumulated risks, and proper planning of measures to be adopted in order to mitigate the repercussions of a nuclear accident, such as;

Nevertheless, the events in Japan, triggered by a large scale natural calamity, must invite any country not only to carry out targeted reassessments of the safety of nuclear installations but also to consider safety assessments at every stage of a nuclear installation's lifetime, to continuously improve nuclear safety and to promote the highest safety levels worldwide ;

The NSSG reaffirmed the high priority of safety in the design and siting of new reactors and the importance of design improvements, as operating and construction experience is gained. New designs should further consider at all stages a comprehensive safety analysis of normal operation and abnormal events, accidents with and without core melt, independence between all levels of defence, safety and security interfaces, radiation protection and waste management;

Operating nuclear installations is a huge responsibility. The NSSG urged countries embarking on nuclear energy programs to apply the relevant IAEA standards and guidance. This includes adoption of an appropriate national nuclear framework for nuclear safety, covering regulatory infrastructure; emergency preparedness and response programmes; allocation of adequate resources (human, financial) for that framework; establishment of a system of licensing ; provision of an independent and transparent regulatory body ... The establishment of a "safety culture" at the operator and government level is a key step towards the safe and responsible operation of nuclear installations worldwide.

In addition to national or regional initiatives already launched to reassess existing nuclear installations, the NSSG underscored the importance of international cooperation on nuclear safety. They encouraged countries that have not already done so to join the Convention on Nuclear Safety, the Joint Convention on the Safety of Spent Fuel Management and on the Safety of Radioactive Waste Management, and the Conventions on Early Notification of a Nuclear Accident and on Assistance in the Case of a Nuclear Accident or Radiological Emergency, and the Convention on Physical Protection of Nuclear Material and its 2005 amendment. This international cooperation, between governments, regulatory bodies and operators will result in improved transparency between the main worldwide nuclear safety stakeholders and will strengthen safety culture worldwide.

[top]

2. Radioactive Waste Management and Decommissioning

The NSSG considered that issues related to radioactive waste and spent fuel management and decommissioning need to be addressed as part of a safe, secure and responsible use of nuclear energy.

The Group emphasized the importance in particular of proper consideration of radioactive waste and spent fuel management and of decommissioning. Such considerations are necessary to protect the environment and future generations. Thereby, the NSSG expressed the view that the adoption of transparent national policies and national frameworks should be promoted, in order to allocate cradle to grave responsibilities (including financial provisions) regarding management of radioactive waste and spent fuel and the decommissioning of nuclear facilities, in accordance with international standards where applicable.

[top]

International Initiative on 3S-Based Nuclear Energy Infrastructure

The NSSG shared best practices and lessons learned in implementing the International Initiative on 3S-Based Nuclear Energy Infrastructure (S for Safety, Security and Safeguards, hereinafter referred to as the 3S Initiative), that was launched at the 2008 Hokkaido Toyako Summit.

The NSSG identified the following key findings:

[top]

Chernobyl Nuclear Power Plant Projects

While the international community is now engaged in a renewed effort to strengthening nuclear safety worldwide the NSSG underscored the importance of remaining resolute in its existing commitments to the long-term safety and security at Chernobyl. The NSSG reconfirmed that Chernobyl remains a high priority in its agenda

The European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD) updated the NSSG regularly on progress of the projects funded by the Nuclear Safety Account (NSA) and the Chernobyl Shelter Fund (CSF), to convert the Chernobyl site into a stable and environmentally safe condition.

Under the French Presidency, the G8 NSSG - EBRD Chernobyl Contact Group continued to follow the progress of those projects.

The recently agreed working schedule for the construction of the New Safe Confinement provides for the Arch to be slid into position in July 2015 and commissioned in the autumn of 2015. Also the Spent Fuel Storage Facility, which will provide dry storage for the more than 20,000 spent fuel assemblies from the operation of the Chernobyl NPP, will be completed in 2015.

During the first months of 2011, which marks the twenty-fifth anniversary of the Chernobyl catastrophe, the Chernobyl Contact Group was particularly active in providing support to the organization of the Chernobyl Pledging Conference, which was held in Kiev on 19 April as part of the 25th anniversary commemoration events

The NSSG noted with great satisfaction that on this occasion the international donors, together with Ukraine and the EBRD, were able to pledge about 550 million. This achievement testifies the collective sense of responsibility of the donor countries, in spite of the difficult economic context.

Some countries were not in a position to announce a contribution, but they reiterated their commitment to the projects and it is anticipated that they will be able to make a decision in a near future. Under the assumption that additional contributions from these and other countries, as well as from the EBRD, will shortly be announced, the NSSG is confident that this will allow these projects to be completed by 2015.

While recognising the complexity and the tight working schedule of the final stages of the Chernobyl projects, the NSSG urged that all the parties involved must redouble efforts to implement them within the agreed timescales and costs.

The NSSG also highlighted that the smooth implementation of the projects depends upon a continued reliable and stable institutional framework both in relation to support for the works at the Chernobyl site, and more widely in terms of a committed and supportive political environment in Ukraine.

In this regard, the Group viewed the critical importance of the Ukrainian Government making the required institutional and financial provisions to ensure the efficient and successful implementation of the programme. The NSSG also urged the Ukrainian Government to consider what long term internal financial structures can be put in place to ensure that decommissioning and deconstruction can continue once the donor programmes have drawn to a close.

[top]

Modernization and Upgrade of Ukrainian Nuclear Power Plants

The NSSG maintained its role in overseeing and tracking the developments with nuclear safety of the Ukrainian Nuclear Power Plants.

According to the 1995 Memorandum of Understanding between the G7 and the European Commission (EC) and Ukraine on the closure of the Chernobyl nuclear power plant (NPP) by the year 2000, the G7 and the EC undertook to cooperate with Ukraine and IFIs to finance projects concerning the completion of the Khmelnitsky unit 2 (K2) and Rovno unit 4 (R4) NPPs. In this context, the EBRD and Euratom provide loans to finance the post start-up 'Modernisation Programme' of K2R4 amounting to USD 125 million (83 M Euratom plus 42 M EBRD) which were approved in July 2004. Full implementation of the 'Modernisation Programme' was satisfactorily completed in 2010.

In order to assess the nuclear safety of the Ukrainian NPPs and the need for possible corrective measures, a joint evaluation was carried out by Ukraine, the EC and the IAEA (2008-2010). The Ukrainian Government approved the "Complex Consolidated Safety Upgrade Programme for Ukrainian NPPs" (CCSUP) for the safety improvement of all Ukrainian NPPs in 2010. The ultimate objective being that the Ukrainian NPPs satisfy internationally recognized nuclear safety standards. In December 2009 Ukraine submitted requests for Euratom and EBRD loans to finance, to maximum possible extent, the implementation of the CCSUP. The total cost of the project had been estimated by Ukraine at EUR 1404 million. The request is currently under review.

[top]

Source: G8 and G20 French Presidency


G7 Information Centre

Top of Page
This Information System is provided by the University of Toronto Library and the G7 and G8 Research Group at the University of Toronto.
Please send comments to: g8@utoronto.ca
This page was last updated June 11, 2011.

All contents copyright © 2017. University of Toronto unless otherwise stated. All rights reserved.

G7 Information Centre
Summits |  Meetings |  Publications |  Research |  Search |  Home |  About the G7 and G8 Research Group
Follow @g7_rg

Rapport sur la sûreté et la sécurité nucléaires

Deauville, 26-27 mai 2011 (publiée 27 mai 2011)
[English Version]

Tremblement de terre et tsunami au Japon
Action du NSSG
   Sûreté nucléaire
   Gestion des déchets radioactifs et déclassement
Initiative internationale pour des infrastructures nucléaires
Projets sur le site de la centrale nucléaire de Tchernobyl
Modernisation et mise à niveau des centrales nucléaires ukrainiennes


Lors du Sommet de Kananaskis, les chefs d'État et de gouvernement étaient convenus de créer le groupe du G8 sur la sûreté et la sécurité nucléaires (NSSG). Ce Groupe, qui rend compte aux chefs d'État et de gouvernement par l'intermédiaire des sherpas, fournit de grandes orientations stratégiques s'appuyant sur des informations techniques pour traiter des questions susceptibles de se répercuter sur la sûreté et la sécurité lors de l'utilisation pacifique de l'énergie nucléaire, en étroite coopération avec les organisations multilatérales et en évitant les chevauchements de travaux ou de responsabilités qui sont assurés de manière adéquate par les organisations ou entités existantes.

[haut]

Tremblement de terre et tsunami au Japon

Le NSSG a exprimé sa plus profonde sympathie et ses condoléances au peuple japonais pour les dégâts causés par le terrible tremblement de terre et le tsunami. Le Groupe a rendu hommage au courage, au sang-froid et à la résistance de la population japonaise dans cette période difficile.

Le tsunami provoqué par le tremblement de terre a eu des conséquences néfastes pour plusieurs réacteurs nucléaires japonais. Considérant que les plus grands efforts sont actuellement réalisés pour atténuer la situation, analyser la succession des événements et en tirer des enseignements, le NSSG a estimé que la question de l'utilisation de l'énergie nucléaire dans de bonnes conditions de sûreté et de sécurité devait être traitée de manière prioritaire dans le cadre de l'action du G8.

[haut]

Action du NSSG

Sous la présidence française de 2011, la France a proposé que quatre points soient traités : la sûreté nucléaire, la responsabilité dans le domaine nucléaire, la gestion des déchets radioactifs, et la gestion du processus de déclassement, dans l'objectif de mettre en évidence, dans la déclaration des chefs d'Etat et de gouvernement du G8, l'importance de ces questions pour une utilisation sûre et responsable de l'énergie nucléaire.

[haut]

1. Sûreté nucléaire

Action du NSSG
Au regard des événements de Fukushima, le NSSG a décidé, sous la présidence française, de centrer ses travaux sur la sûreté nucléaire et ses enjeux. Le NSSG est convenu que le G8 devrait adopter une déclaration ferme sur la sûreté nucléaire fondée sur les éléments suivants.

La première priorité est de tirer tous les enseignements immédiats de l'accident de Fukushima. Le NSSG s'est félicité de l'initiative prise par de nombreux pays de mener des évaluations globales du risque et de la sûreté de leurs installations nucléaires existantes et il a invité tous les autres pays exploitant des installations nucléaires à mener des évaluations de ce type dans les meilleurs délais.

Ces évaluations devront être menées à la lumière des enseignements tirés des récents événements, en tenant compte de multiples facteurs tels que la résistance aux chocs extérieurs y compris, mais sans toutefois s'y limiter, les risques cumulés, et dans le cadre d'une planification adéquate des mesures à adopter pour limiter les répercussions d'un accident nucléaire, notamment :

les risques naturels majeurs ;

Néanmoins, les événements survenus au Japon, déclenchés par une catastrophe naturelle de grande ampleur, doivent inciter tous les pays non seulement à mener des réévaluations ciblées de la sûreté de leurs installations nucléaires, mais également à envisager des évaluations de la sûreté à tous les stades de la durée de vie d'une installation nucléaire, pour améliorer en permanence la sûreté nucléaire et promouvoir les plus hauts niveaux de sûreté nucléaire dans le monde entier.

Le NSSG a réaffirmé que la sûreté en matière de conception et de choix de site des nouveaux réacteurs était prioritaire et qu'il était important d'améliorer la conception, en se fondant sur l'expérience acquise en termes d'exploitation et de construction. Les nouvelles conceptions doivent inclure à tous les stades de leur développement une analyse complète de la sûreté des conditions normales d'exploitation et des événements exceptionnels, des accidents avec ou sans fusion du cœur, de l'indépendance de tous les niveaux des interfaces de défense, de sûreté et de sécurité, la protection contre les radiations et la gestion des déchets.

Exploiter des installations nucléaires est une responsabilité immense. Le NSSG a appelé les pays lançant des programmes nucléaires à appliquer les normes et les recommandations pertinentes de l'AIEA. Cela comprend l'adoption d'un cadre nucléaire national approprié pour la sûreté nucléaire, incluant l'intégration des infrastructures de réglementation, les programmes de préparation aux situations d'urgence et d'organisation des secours, l'attribution de ressources adéquates (humaines et financières) pour ce cadre, l'établissement d'un système d'autorisation, la mise en place d'un organisme de réglementation transparent et indépendant, etc.. L'établissement d'une « culture de sûreté » au niveau des exploitants et des pouvoirs publics est un facteur-clé pour une exploitation sûre et responsable des installations nucléaires dans le monde entier.

Outre les initiatives nationales ou régionales déjà mises en œuvre pour réévaluer les installations nucléaires existantes, le NSSG a souligné l'importance de la coopération internationale dans le domaine de la sûreté nucléaire. Le Groupe a encouragé les pays qui ne l'ont pas encore fait à adhérer aux instruments suivants : la Convention sur la sûreté nucléaire, la Convention commune sur la sûreté de la gestion du combustible usé et sur la sûreté de la gestion des déchets radioactifs, les Conventions sur la notification rapide d'un accident nucléaire et sur l'assistance en cas d'accident nucléaire ou de situation d'urgence radiologique, et la Convention sur la protection physique des matières nucléaires et son amendement adopté en 2005. Cette coopération internationale entre les gouvernements, les organismes de réglementation et les exploitants permettra d'améliorer la transparence parmi les principaux acteurs internationaux de la sûreté nucléaire et de renforcer la culture de sûreté dans le monde entier.

[haut]

2. Gestion des déchets radioactifs et déclassement

Le NSSG a estimé que les questions liées à la gestion des déchets radioactifs et du combustible usé et au déclassement doivent être traitées dans le cadre d'une utilisation responsable et dans de bonnes conditions de sûreté et de sécurité.

Le Groupe a rappelé qu'il était notamment important de traiter de manière appropriée la gestion des déchets radioactifs et du combustible usé et le déclassement. Ces aspects sont en effets essentiels pour protéger l'environnement et les générations futures. De ce fait, le NSSG a souligné que l'adoption de politiques nationales transparentes et de cadres nationaux doit être encouragée, afin de définir les responsabilités (notamment les dispositions financières) concernant la gestion des déchets radioactifs et du combustible usé « du berceau à la tombe » et le déclassement des installations nucléaires, conformément aux normes internationales chaque fois qu'il convient.

[haut]

Initiative internationale pour des infrastructures nucléaires basées sur le respect des principes de garanties (non-prolifération nucléaire), de sûreté et de sécurité

Le NSSG a diffusé les bonnes pratiques et les enseignements tirés dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre de l'Initiative internationale pour des infrastructures nucléaires basées sur le respect des principes de garanties, de sûreté et de sécurité (ci-après dénommée « Initiative 3S »), qui a été lancée lors du Sommet de Hokkaido Toyako en 2008.

Le NSSG a identifié les principales conclusions suivantes :

Initiative internationale pour des infrastructures nucléaires basées sur le respect des principes de garanties (non-prolifération nucléaire), de sûreté et de sécurité
Le NSSG a diffusé les bonnes pratiques et les enseignements tirés dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre de l'Initiative internationale pour des infrastructures nucléaires basées sur le respect des principes de garanties, de sûreté et de sécurité (ci-après dénommée « Initiative 3S »), qui a été lancée lors du Sommet de Hokkaido Toyako en 2008.

Le NSSG a identifié les principales conclusions suivantes :

[haut]

Projets sur le site de la centrale nucléaire de Tchernobyl

Alors que la communauté internationale est actuellement engagée dans une action destinée à renforcer la sûreté nucléaire dans le monde entier, le NSSG a rappelé qu'il était important de tenir ses engagements en faveur de la sûreté et de la sécurité à long terme sur le site de Tchernobyl. Le NSSG a reconfirmé que le site de Tchernobyl reste une priorité de son action.

La Banque européenne pour la reconstruction et le développement (BERD) a régulièrement informé le NSSG de l'état d'avancement des projets financés par le Fonds de Sûreté nucléaire (NSA) et par le Fonds international pour le sarcophage de Tchernobyl (CSF), destinés à rendre le site de Tchernobyl stable et sûr pour l'environnement.

Sous la présidence française, le groupe de contact NSSG du G8-BERD a continué de suivre la progression de ces projets.

Le programme de travail récemment approuvé pour la construction d'une nouvelle enceinte de confinement sûre permettra à l'Arche d'être positionnée en juillet 2015 et mise en service au cours de l'automne 2015. Par ailleurs, l'installation d'entreposage du combustible usé, qui permettra d'assurer l'entreposage à sec des plus de 20 000 assemblages combustibles usés résultant de l'exploitation de la centrale nucléaire de Tchernobyl, s'achèvera en 2015.

Pendant les premiers mois de l'année 2011 qui marque le vingt-cinquième anniversaire de la catastrophe de Tchernobyl, le groupe de contact a été particulièrement actif en fournissant un soutien à l'organisation de la Conférence des donateurs de Tchernobyl qui s'est tenue à Kiev le 19 avril dans le cadre de la commémoration du 25ème anniversaire.

Le NSSG a noté avec une grande satisfaction qu'à cette occasion les donateurs internationaux, s'associant à l'Ukraine et à la BERD, ont pu s'engager à verser environ 550 millions d'euros. Ce résultat témoigne du sentiment de responsabilité collective des pays donateurs, malgré une conjoncture économique difficile.

Certains pays qui n'étaient pas en mesure d'annoncer une contribution ont renouvelé leur engagement en faveur des projets et il est prévu qu'ils puissent prendre prochainement une décision en la matière. En supposant que les contributions additionnelles de ces pays, ajoutées à celles d'autres pays et de la BERD, soient bientôt annoncées, le NSSG a bon espoir que cela permette à ces projets d'être finalisés d'ici 2015.

Tout en reconnaissant la complexité et le programme de travail serré des dernières étapes des projets menés sur le site de Tchernobyl, le NSSG a appelé toutes les parties prenantes à redoubler d'efforts pour les mettre en œuvre dans le respect des calendriers et des budgets prévus.

Le NSSG a par ailleurs souligné que l'efficacité de la mise en œuvre des projets dépend d'un cadre institutionnel fiable et stable permanent, que ce soit en ce qui concerne le soutien aux travaux menés sur le site de Tchernobyl, ou, plus largement, en ce qui concerne l'environnement politique engagé et favorable en Ukraine.

A cet égard, le Groupe a reconnu qu'il était essentiel que le gouvernement ukrainien prenne les mesures institutionnelles et financières requises pour assurer une mise en œuvre efficace et réussie du programme. Le NSSG a également appelé le gouvernement ukrainien à déterminer quelles structures financières internes peuvent être mises en place pour faire en sorte que le déclassement et la déconstruction puissent se poursuivre lorsque les programmes des donateurs toucheront à leur fin.

[haut]

Modernisation et mise à niveau des centrales nucléaires ukrainiennes

Le NSSG a continué de jouer son rôle de supervision et de suivi de l'évolution de la sûreté nucléaire des centrales nucléaires ukrainiennes.

Conformément au Protocole d'accord signé en 1995 entre le G7, la Commission européenne et le gouvernement ukrainien relatif à la fermeture de la centrale nucléaire de Tchernobyl d'ici 2000, le G7 et la Commission européenne s'étaient engagés à coopérer avec l'Ukraine et les institutions financières internationales pour financer des projets liés à l'achèvement des réacteurs nucléaires Khmelnitski 2 (K2) et Rovno 4 (R4). Dans ce contexte, la BERD et EURATOM ont accordé des prêts pour financer l'après démarrage du programme de modernisation K2/R4 pour un montant de 125 millions de dollars (83 millions fournis par EURATOM et 42 millions par la BERD), approuvés en juillet 2004. La mise en œuvre complète du programme de modernisation a été achevée en 2010.

Afin de mesurer le niveau de sûreté des centrales nucléaires ukrainiennes et la nécessité d'éventuelles mesures correctives, une évaluation conjointe a été menée par l'Ukraine, la Commission européenne et l'AIEA (2008-2010). Le gouvernement ukrainien a approuvé le programme consolidé de renforcement de la sûreté des centrales nucléaires ukrainiennes (CCSUP) destiné à améliorer la sûreté de toutes les centrales nucléaires ukrainiennes en 2010. L'objectif final de ce programme est que les centrales nucléaires ukrainiennes respectent les normes de sûreté nucléaire reconnues au plan international. En décembre 2009, l'Ukraine a adressé une demande de prêt à EURATOM et à la BERD afin de financer, dans la plus grande mesure possible, la mise en œuvre du CCSUP. Le coût total du projet a été estimé par l'Ukraine à 1 404 millions d'euros. Cette demande est actuellement en cours d'examen.

[haut]

Source: Présidence française du G8 et G20


G7 Information Centre

Top of Page
This Information System is provided by the University of Toronto Library and the G7 and G8 Research Group at the University of Toronto.
Please send comments to: g8@utoronto.ca
This page was last updated June 11, 2011.

All contents copyright © 2017. University of Toronto unless otherwise stated. All rights reserved.