G7 Information Centre
Summits |  Meetings |  Publications |  Research |  Search |  Home |  About the G7 and G8 Research Group
Follow @g7_rg

eG8 Forum

Opening of the eG8 Forum:
Address by Nicolas Sarkozy, President of the French Republic

May 24, 2011, Paris

Ladies and Gentlemen,

History always remembers those places where, at a given point in time, all creative forces of an era seem to want to converge.

And it is in the hope that Paris would become the capital of the Internet for a few days that I wanted to bring you here together, just before the G8 Summit.

This is an important moment because to my knowledge it is the first time that all those who, with their talent and ingenuity, helped change the world, or I should say, make us change the world, are meeting in one and the same place.

France and the G8 have indeed the honour to welcome the men and women whose names are now associated with the emergence of a new form of civilization.

If we are able to listen to each other, speak to each other and understand each other, I am strongly convinced that we will be able to give this G8 a historic dimension, so that our era becomes fully self-aware and moves beyond the tremendous individual adventures to become a part of collective history.

Our world has already experienced two different globalizations.

From the first one, that of great discoveries, we inherited a complete world, a world which Magellan could circumnavigate, a world that could be explored and charted.

From the second one, that of industrial revolutions, we inherited a space that was not only complete, but domesticated, and at times subjugated.

With the third globalization, that in which you both play a role and are promoting, you have changed the way the world sees itself.


You have changed the notion of space because the Internet not only got rid of the distance separating people but also opened up a virtual world that is, by definition, limitless.
A world in which everyone can make contact with everyone else.
A world in which everyone can create their own territory, their own community, even their own society.

You have changed the notion of time, getting rid of the very concept of something happening over a period of time, making everything immediate, giving everyone the possibility of reaching others and accessing information instantly, and in short, making anything possible.

You have even changed how we see history because transparency, even if at times it can be contested, both in its method and its effects, has imposed itself on countries.
You have changed our relationship with things and objects with the single phenomenon of "dematerialization".
You have changed the very notion of knowledge and have made it possible for everyone to access all knowledge and not only access, but contribute to this knowledge. The dream of a universal library that would include knowledge from all over the world, this dream that is old as time itself, has now become a reality for millions of Internet users.

In just a few years, you have rocked the very foundations of the world economy in which you now play a major role.

You have changed the world.
For me, you have changed the world, just as Columbus and Galileo did.
You have changed the world, just as Newton and Edison did.
You have changed the world with the imagination of inventors and the boldness of entrepreneurs.

Unique in history, this total revolution has been immediately and irrevocably global.
Unique in history, this revolution does not belong to anybody, it does not have a flag, it does not have a slogan: this revolution is a common good.
Unique in history, this revolution has occurred without violence.
The discovery of the New World brought about the total destruction of American Indian civilizations.
The global revolution that you incarnate is a peaceful one. It did not emerge on battlefields but on university campuses.

It arose from the miraculous combination of science and culture, and the determination to acquire knowledge and the determination to transmit it.

With regard to the origins of your sector, legend has it that Google was created in a garage: the thing I remember most is that Google was born in a university library.
The imaginary world of Hollywood wanted Facebook to be seen as the result of a failed love affair: we'd like to see many more like that. The thing I remember most is that Facebook was created at a top ranking university campus.

This revolution that went so far as to change our perception of time and space has played a decisive role in other revolutions. In Tunisia and Egypt alike, mere individuals were able overturn a power that was completely discredited by building virtual barricades and organizing very real rallies.
Peoples in Arab countries thus showed the world that the Internet does not belong to States. International opinion was able to see that the Internet had become, for freedom of speech, a medium for expressing unprecedented power.

Like any revolution, the technological and cultural revolution you began holds promise. Huge promise. Promise that is commensurate with the considerable progress you incarnate.

Now that this revolution has reached the first stage in its maturity, it should not forget the promise of its origins.

If you have designed tools that are now your own, it is because you dreamed of a world that would be more open.

If you have built social networks that currently connect millions of men and women, it is because you dreamed of a world that would be more socially minded.

If you have given utopia concrete expression, it is because you have faith in humankind and its future.

If you have achieved worldwide success so swiftly, it is because this promise reflects universal values.

Your work should thus be considered historic and help drive civilization.
And that is the importance of your responsibility, because you do have a responsibility.
Our responsibility, as Heads of State and Government, is no less important. We must support a revolution that was born at the heart of civil society for civil society and that has a direct impact on the life of States. Because if technology is neutral and must remain so, we have clearly seen that the ways the Internet is used are not.

Today, discussing and shaping the Internet is a real historic responsibility and this responsibility can only be shared, by you and us.

The idea is for the G8 States, which include some of the most powerful countries in the world, to recognize the role that is now yours in the course of history. We would like to hear about your expertise, because we have things to learn. We have things to understand. Just like individuals and companies, States do not want to miss an opportunity for progress that you have created and that you incarnate.
How can we use the Internet to bolster democracy, social dialogue and solidarity? How can we use the Internet to improve the way States function? How can we inject this spirit of innovation and enterprise which is characteristic of your sector into States?

Also the States we represent need to make it known that the world you represent is not a parallel universe, free of legal and moral rules and more generally all the basis principles that govern society in democratic countries.
Now that the Internet is an integral part of most people's lives, it would be contradictory to exclude governments from this huge forum. Nobody could nor should forget that these governments are the only legitimate representatives of the will of the people in our democracies. To forget this is to run the risk of democratic chaos and hence anarchy. To forget this would be to confuse populism with democracy of opinion.
Juxtaposed individual wishes have never constituted the will of the people.
A social contract cannot be drawn up by simply lumping together individual aspirations.

States and Governments have also learned from history, and I am speaking to you on behalf of the country that drew up the Declaration of the Rights of Man and of the Citizen.

So, ladies and gentlemen, be loyal to the promise of the revolution that you began, as France has sought to be loyal to hers for over two centuries.
I know that the market has its own regulatory mechanisms but trade is never truly free if the terms of this trade are unfair.

Do not allow new barriers to be built where you have toppled the longstanding walls of the old world.
Do not allow new monopolies to take root where you have overturned long-established situations that seemed unshakeable.

In giving all individuals, regardless of where they live or from where they speak, the possibility to be heard by everyone everywhere, you have provided all citizens of the world with a freedom of speech that is unprecedented in history. This outstanding leap in individual freedoms cannot be taken at the expense of the rights of others.

Do not allow the revolution you began to violate people's fundamental right to privacy and to be fully autonomous. Complete transparency, which never allows a person to rest, will sooner or later come up against the very principle of individual freedom.

Let us not forget that behind an anonymous Internet user, there is a real citizen who is evolving in a society, a culture and an organized nation to which he belongs and with laws he must abide by.

Do not forget that the sincerity of your promise will be assessed in the commitment of your companies to contribute fairly to national ecosystems.

Do not allow the revolution you began to violate the basic right of children to lives that are protected from the moral turpitude of certain adults.

Do not allow the revolution you began to be a vehicle for maliciousness, unobstructed and unrestricted. Do not allow this revolution become an instrument in the hands of those who wish to jeopardize our security and in doing so, our freedom and our integrity.

You have allowed everyone, with the mere magic of the Web, to access all the cultural treasures of the world in a simple click. It would be something of a paradox if the Web contributed to draining them over time.

The immense cultural wealth that provides our civilizations with such beauty is a product of the creative forces of our artists, authors and thinkers. Basically, it is the product of all those who work on enchanting the world.

Yet these creative forces are fragile because when creative minds are deprived of the fruit of their talents, they are not just ruined, what's worse, they lose their independence, they will be required to pawn their freedom.

I'm telling you this with a man in mind, a Frenchman who died over two centuries ago, who with a single play brought down a nearly one-thousand-year-old monarchy, a man who also, with Lafayette, was one of the first defenders of American Independence!

This man was like you because, starting with nothing but his intelligence, he overturned an order that was believed to be immovable and eternal. This man was Beaumarchais. This same man invented the principle of copyright. He went one step further than giving authors ownership rights of their works, he ensured their independence, he offered them freedom.

I know and I understand that our "French" idea of copyright is not the same as in the United States and other countries.
I simply mean that our commitment to universal principles, those that both the U.S. Constitution and the 1789 Declaration of the Rights of Man and of the Citizen lay down: nobody can have his ideas, work, imagination and intellectual property expropriated without this being punished.

What I would like to express here is that each of you should be able to be heard because before being entrepreneurs you are creators. It is under this copyright law for creative work that you have been able to found companies that have become empires. These algorithms that constitute your power, this continual innovation that constitutes your strength, this technology that is changing the world, are your property and nobody can contest that. Each of you, each of us, can therefore understand that writers, directors, musicians and actors can have the same rights.

This copyright law for creative work enabling artists to receive fair payment for their ideas and their talents, is also valid for each of the States we represent.
States invest in training of those who then join your companies.

States invest in the technical and technological infrastructure that provides transport for the services and content that are circulated on the Web.

States would like to engage in dialogue with you so that a balanced way forward can be found one day that is mindful of your interests, those of Internet users that give you overwhelming support every day and those lastly of citizens and taxpayers of every nation who also have rights.

We are emerging from a terrible crisis, resulting from the blindness of financial powers who have lost sight of what was important to sacrifice everything for money.
These powers that did not want to be accountable to people and the powers that wanted to avoid dialogue with elected governments that have the interest of the people in mind.

It is simply a call for collective responsibility that I am issuing here. A call for responsibility and a call for common sense.

We believe in the same values. I am therefore convinced that a way forward is possible. A way forward that will enable the world you created and the world we have inherited to work alongside each other in the interest of a world that has become global, which is largely thanks to you.

So let us begin together this crucial dialogue. Let us open and build this new forum.

I would like to thank you because when I had the idea for this forum, at first everyone told me that it was a bad idea, except Maurice Levy, when I asked him to be in charge of organizing it. First my fellow Heads of State and Government, who told me yet again, "you take too many risks". I personally think that the worst risk is not taking any; the worst risk is that of not speaking to each other. And I think that we never take risks when we call on the intelligence of people, from your world, who have said to themselves "what can we do with Heads of State and Government?" I think that we have a lot to accomplish together and I'll be very happy Thursday if a delegation made up of some of the participants here today could engage in dialogue with my fellow Heads of State and Government. We need this dialogue, we need to understand your expectations, your aspirations, your needs. And you need to hear our limitations, our red lines, the problems we shoulder in the name of the general interest of our societies. I am so pleased to welcome you here in Paris today and would be even more pleased if this forum could be held every year prior to the G8 Summit so that we have a clear idea of where you are in your progress and so that you know what we are thinking.

Thank you.

Source: French Presidency of the G8 and G20

[top]


G7 Information Centre

Top of Page
This Information System is provided by the University of Toronto Library and the G7 and G8 Research Group at the University of Toronto.
Please send comments to: g8@utoronto.ca
This page was last updated June 20, 2011.

All contents copyright © 2017. University of Toronto unless otherwise stated. All rights reserved.

G8 Information Centre
Summits | Meetings | Publications | Research | Search | Home

eG8 Forum

Inauguration du e-G8 Forum :
Discours de Nicolas Sarkozy, président de la République française

24 mai 2011, Paris

Mesdames et Messieurs,

L'Histoire se souvient toujours de ces lieux vers lesquels, à un moment donné, toutes les forces créatives d'une époque semblent vouloir converger.

Aussi, c'est en formant les vœux que Paris devienne pour quelques jours la capitale de l'Internet que j'ai souhaité vous réunir, à la veille du G8.

Ce moment est important car c'est à ma connaissance la première fois, que l'ensemble de ceux qui ont contribué par leur talent à changer le monde, je devrais dire, à nous faire changer de monde, sont réunis en un seul et même lieu.

La France et le G8 ont en effet l'honneur d'accueillir des femmes et des hommes dont le nom est aujourd'hui attaché à l'émergence d'une nouvelle forme de civilisation.

Si nous savons nous écouter, nous parler, nous entendre, j'ai l'intime conviction que nous sommes en mesure de donner à ce G8 une dimension historique ; de permettre à notre époque de prendre pleinement conscience d'elle-même et de dépasser de formidables aventures individuelles pour entrer de plain-pied dans l'histoire collective.

Notre monde avait déjà connu deux mondialisations.

De la première, celle des grandes découvertes, nous avons hérité un monde achevé, un monde dont Magellan pouvait faire le tour, un monde que l'on pouvait explorer et cartographier.

De la seconde, celle des révolutions industrielles, nous avons hérité un espace non seulement achevé mais domestiqué, asservi même parfois.

Avec la troisième mondialisation, celle dont vous êtes tout à la fois les acteurs et les promoteurs, vous avez changé la perception que le monde se fait de lui-même.

Vous avez changé la notion d'espace car Internet non seulement abolit la distance qui sépare les hommes mais il ouvre un monde virtuel qui est par définition, sans limites.

Un monde où chacun peut entrer en contact avec l'autre.

Un monde où chacun peut construire son propre territoire, sa propre communauté, voire sa propre société.

Vous avez changé la notion du temps en abolissant la notion même de durée au profit d'une immédiateté qui donne à chacun la possibilité d'accéder instantanément à l'autre, à l'information et pour tout dire au champ des possibles.

Vous avez changé jusqu'à la perception de l'Histoire car même si elle est parfois contestable, dans sa méthode comme dans ses effets, la transparence s'est imposée aux États eux-mêmes.

Vous avez changé la relation aux choses et aux objets par le seul phénomène de la « dématérialisation ».

Vous avez changé la notion même de connaissance en offrant à chacun la possibilité d'accéder à tout le savoir et non seulement d'y accéder mais d'y contribuer. Le rêve d'une bibliothèque universelle qui recueillerait tous les savoirs du monde, ce rêve vieux comme l'Antiquité, est aujourd'hui une réalité pour des millions d'internautes.

En quelques années, vous avez bouleversé les fondements même de l'économie mondiale dont vous êtes devenus des acteurs majeurs.

Vous avez changé le monde.

Pour moi, vous avez changé le monde au même titre que Colomb et Galilée.

Vous avez changé le monde au même titre que Newton et Edison.

Vous avez changé le monde avec l'imagination de l'inventeur et l'audace de l'entrepreneur.

Chose unique dans l'Histoire, cette révolution totale est immédiatement et irrémédiablement globale.

Chose unique dans l'Histoire, cette révolution n'appartient à personne, elle n'a pas de drapeau, elle n'a pas de slogan : cette révolution est un bien commun.

Chose unique dans l'histoire, cette révolution s'est faite sans violence.

La découverte du Nouveau Monde avait entrainé l'anéantissement des civilisations amérindiennes.

La révolution mondiale que vous incarnez a été pacifique. Elle n'est pas née sur des champs de bataille mais sur des campus universitaires.

Elle a surgi de la combinaison miraculeuse de la science et de la culture, de la volonté de connaître et de la volonté de transmettre.

La mythologie propre à la naissance de votre secteur voudrait que Google ait été créé dans un garage : je retiens surtout que Google est né dans une bibliothèque universitaire.

L'imaginaire d'Hollywood voudrait que Facebook soit né d'un dépit amoureux : on en souhaite beaucoup comme ça. Je retiens surtout que Facebook est né au sein d'un campus universitaire de très haut niveau.

Cette révolution qui a modifié jusqu'à notre perception du temps et de l'espace a joué un rôle déterminant dans le déroulement d'autres révolutions. En Tunisie, en Égypte, de simples individus ont pu faire vaciller un pouvoir qui s'était totalement déconsidéré en construisant des barricades virtuelles et des rassemblements bien réels.

Les peuples des pays arabes ont ainsi montré au monde qu'Internet n'appartenait pas aux Etats. L'opinion internationale a pu ainsi constater qu'Internet était devenu, pour la liberté d'expression, un vecteur d'une puissance inédite.

Comme toute révolution, la Révolution technologique et culturelle que vous avez engagée est porteuse d'une promesse. Une promesse immense. Une promesse aux dimensions du progrès considérable que vous incarnez.

Cette Révolution est arrivée au premier stade de sa maturité, elle ne doit pas oublier la promesse des origines.

Si vous avez conçu les outils qui sont aujourd'hui les vôtres, c'est parce que vous rêviez d'un monde plus ouvert.

Si vous avez construit les réseaux sociaux qui réunissent aujourd'hui des millions de femmes et d'hommes, c'est parce que vous rêviez d'un monde plus fraternel.

Si vous avez donné une réalité à l'utopie, c'est parce que vous aviez foi en l'Homme et en son avenir.

Si vous avez rencontré aussi vite un succès planétaire, c'est parce que cette promesse fait référence à des valeurs universelles.

Votre action doit donc se lire à l'échelle de l'Histoire et s'inscrire dans une dynamique de civilisation.

De là, votre niveau de responsabilité, car vous avez une responsabilité.

Notre responsabilité, à nous chefs d'États et de gouvernement, n'est pas moindre. Nous devons accompagner une révolution qui est née au cœur de la société civile pour la société civile et qui a un impact direct sur la vie des Etats. Car si la technologie est neutre et doit le rester, on voit bien que les usages d'Internet ne le sont pas.

Aujourd'hui penser l'Internet relève d'une véritable responsabilité historique et cette responsabilité ne peut être qu'une responsabilité partagée, entre vous et nous.

Il s'agit pour les États du G8, parmi les plus puissants du monde de reconnaître le rôle qui est désormais le vôtre dans la marche de l'Histoire. Nous voulons entendre votre expertise, car nous avons des choses à apprendre. Nous avons des choses à comprendre. De la même façon que les individus et les entreprises, les Etats n'ont pas l'intention de rater l'opportunité du progrès auquel vous avez donné naissance et que vous incarnez.

Comment utiliser Internet pour renforcer la démocratie, le dialogue social, la solidarité ? Comment utiliser Internet pour améliorer l'efficacité du fonctionnement de l'Etat ? Comment insuffler dans l'Etat cet esprit d'innovation et d'entreprise, caractéristique de votre secteur ?

Il s'agissait aussi pour les États que nous représentons de signifier que l'univers que vous représentez n'est pas un univers parallèle, affranchi des règles du droit, affranchi de la morale et plus généralement de tous les principes fondamentaux qui gouvernent la vie sociale dans les pays démocratiques.

Dès lors qu'Internet fait aujourd'hui partie intégrante de la vie du plus grand nombre, ce serait une contradiction que d'écarter les Gouvernements de cet immense forum. Personne ne peut ni ne doit oublier que les gouvernements sont dans nos démocraties, les représentants légitimes de la volonté générale. L'oublier, c'est prendre le risque du chaos démocratique donc de l'anarchie. L'oublier, ce serait confondre le populisme avec la démocratie d'opinion.

La juxtaposition de volontés individuelles n'a jamais fait une volonté générale.

L'amalgame des seules aspirations individuelles ne suffit pas à faire un contrat social.

Les Etats et les Gouvernements ont l'expérience de l'Histoire, et je voudrais vous parler au nom du pays qui a forgé la Déclaration des Droits de l'Homme et du Citoyen.

Alors, Mesdames et Messieurs, soyez fidèle à la promesse de la Révolution que vous avez lancée.

Le marché a ses propres mécanismes de régulation mais aucun échange n'est réellement libre si les termes de cet échange sont inéquitables.

Ne laissez pas construire de nouvelles barrières là où vous avez fait tomber les vieux murs de l'ancien monde.

Ne laissez pas s'installer de nouveaux monopoles là où vous avez renversé des situations acquises qui paraissaient inébranlables.

En donnant à chaque individu, où qu'il soit et d'où qu'il parle, la possibilité d'être entendu par tous et en tout lieu, vous avez donné à chaque citoyen du monde un droit d'expression qui n'a jamais connu d'équivalent dans l'Histoire. Ce progrès fantastique des pouvoirs de l'individu ne peut pas avoir été gagné aux dépens des droits de l'Autre.

Ne laissez pas la révolution que vous avez lancée porter atteinte au droit élémentaire de chacun à une vie privée et à une pleine autonomie. La transparence totale, celle qui ne laisse jamais l'Homme en repos, se heurte tôt ou tard au principe même de la liberté individuelle.

N'oubliez pas que derrière l'internaute anonyme, il y a un citoyen bien réel qui évolue dans une société, une culture, une nation organisée à laquelle il appartient et aux lois de laquelle il adhère.

N'oubliez pas que c'est dans l'engagement de vos entreprises à contribuer équitablement aux écosystèmes nationaux, que sera appréciée la sincérité de votre promesse.

Ne laissez pas la technologie que vous avez forgée porter atteinte au droit élémentaire des enfants à vivre protégés des turpitudes de certains adultes.

Ne laissez pas la révolution que vous avez lancée véhiculer le mal, sans entrave ni retenue. Ne la laissez pas, cette révolution, devenir un instrument aux mains de ceux qui veulent porter atteinte à notre sécurité et donc à notre liberté et à notre intégrité.

Vous avez permis à chacun, par la seule magie du Web, d'accéder d'un simple clic à toutes les richesses culturelles du monde. Il serait vraiment paradoxal que le Web contribue, à terme, à les assécher.

Cette immense richesse culturelle qui fait l'éclat de nos civilisations, nous la devons à la puissance créative des artistes, des auteurs et des penseurs. En un mot, nous la devons à ceux qui travaillent à l'enchantement du monde.

Pourtant cette puissance de création est fragile car si les esprits créatifs sont spoliés du fruit de leurs talents, ils ne sont pas simplement ruinés, plus grave, ils perdent leur autonomie, ils seront contraints de mettre leur liberté en gage.

Je vous le dis en pensant à un homme, un français mort il y a plus de deux siècles, qui avec une seule pièce de théâtre a fait vaciller une monarchie presque millénaire, un homme aussi qui, avec Lafayette, fut l'un des premiers défenseurs de l'Indépendance américaine.

Cet homme, il vous ressemble car, parti de rien et n'ayant que son intelligence pour tout bagage, il a renversé un ordre que l'on croyait immuable et éternel. Cet homme, c'est Beaumarchais. Ce même homme a inventé le principe du droit d'auteur. Il a, alors, fait mieux que de donner aux créateurs les droits de propriété de leurs œuvres, il leur a garanti l'indépendance, il leur offert la liberté.

Je sais et j'entends bien que notre conception « française » du droit d'auteur n'est pas la même qu'aux États-Unis ou dans d'autres pays.

Je veux simplement dire notre attachement à des principes universels, ceux que proclament aussi bien la Constitution américaine que la Déclaration des Droits de l'Homme : personne ne doit pouvoir être impunément exproprié du produit de ses idées, de son travail, de son imagination, de sa propriété intellectuelle.

Ce que j'exprime ici chacun de vous doit pouvoir l'entendre car avant d'être des entrepreneurs, vous êtes des créateurs et c'est en vertu de ce droit de créateur que vous avez pu fonder des entreprises qui sont aujourd'hui devenues des empires. Ces algorithmes qui font votre puissance, cette innovation permanente qui fait votre force, cette technologie qui change le monde sont votre propriété et personne ne vous le conteste. Chacun de vous, chacun de nous, peut donc comprendre que l'écrivain, le réalisateur, le musicien, l'interprète puissent avoir les mêmes droits.

Ce droit des créateurs a pouvoir recevoir la juste rétribution de leurs idées et de leurs talents vaut aussi pour chacun des États que nous représentons.

Les États investissent dans la formation de ceux qui rejoignent ensuite vos entreprises.

Les États investissent dans les infrastructures techniques qui permettent ensuite le transport des services et des contenus qui circulent sur le web.

Les États souhaitent engager avec vous un dialogue pour qu'une voie équilibrée puisse un jour être trouvée entre vos intérêts, ceux des internautes qui vous plébiscitent chaque jour et ceux des citoyens et des contribuables de chaque Nation qui ont aussi des droits.

Nous sortons d'une crise terrible, fruit de l'aveuglement de puissances financières qui ont perdu de vue l'essentiel pour tout sacrifier à l'argent.

Des puissances qui ont voulu s'affranchir du regard des peuples, des puissances qui ont voulu échapper au dialogue avec les Gouvernement élus qui portent l'intérêt général.

C'est donc simplement un appel à la responsabilité collective que je lance ici. Un appel à la responsabilité et donc un appel à la Raison.

Nous croyons aux mêmes valeurs. Je suis donc convaincu qu'un chemin est possible. Un chemin qui puisse permettre au monde que vous avez créé et au monde dont nous sommes les héritiers de marcher côte à côte dans l'intérêt général d'un monde devenu global et en grande partie grâce à vous.

Alors entamons, ensemble, ce dialogue indispensable. Ouvrons et construisons ce nouveau forum.

Je vous remercie parce que quand j'ai eu l'idée de ce forum, au début tout le monde m'a dit que c'était une mauvaise idée, sauf Maurice LEVY quand je lui ai proposé d'en être l'organisateur. D'abord mes collègues chefs d'Etat et de gouvernement, qui m'ont dit « encore une fois : tu prends trop de risques ». Moi, je pense que le pire risque, c'est celui de ne pas en prendre ; que le pire risque, c'est celui de ne pas se parler ; et moi je pense que l'on ne prend jamais de risques quand on en appelle à l'intelligence des gens, celui du monde qui est le vôtre, qui s'est dit : « mais qu'est-ce que l'on a à faire avec les chefs d'Etat et de gouvernement ? » Je pense que l'on a beaucoup à faire ensemble et je serai très heureux jeudi qu'une délégation d'entre vous puisse dialoguer avec mes collègues chefs d'Etat et de gouvernement. Nous avons besoin de ce dialogue, nous avons besoin de comprendre vos attentes, vos aspirations, vos besoins et vous avez besoin d'entendre nos limites, nos lignes rouges, les problèmes dont nous sommes porteurs au nom de l'intérêt général de nos sociétés. C'est vous dire combien je suis heureux de vous recevoir à Paris et combien je serai encore plus heureux, si ce forum pouvait se tenir chaque année avant le G8, pour que nous sachions bien, nous, où vous vous trouvez et pour que vous sachiez, vous, ce que nous pensons.

Je vous remercie.

Source: Présidence française du G8 et G20

[haut]


G8 Centre
Top
This Information System is provided by the University of Toronto Library and the G8 Research Group at the University of Toronto.
Please send comments to: g8@utoronto.ca
This page was last updated June 20, 2011.

All contents copyright © 2014. University of Toronto unless otherwise stated. All rights reserved.