G7 Research Group G7 Information Centre
Summits |  Meetings |  Publications |  Research |  Search |  Home |  About the G7 Research Group
University of Toronto

G7 Chair's Statement on Today's Call on Russia and Ukraine

February 22, 2022

Today, Foreign Minister Annalena Baerbock chaired a call of the G7 Foreign Ministers of Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the United Kingdom, and the United States of America, and the High Representative of the European Union. In their call Ministers strongly condemned Russia's recognition of the non-government controlled areas of Donetsk and Luhansk and the decision to deploy Russian troops into these areas.

In light of these developments, Foreign Ministers prepared for next steps on the basis of their meeting on 19 February in Munich, including stepping-up restrictive measures responding to Russia's actions. They agreed to continue their close coordination.

Foreign Ministers reiterated their unwavering support and commitment to the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Ukraine within its internationally recognised borders. They expressed their clear solidarity with the freely elected Government and the people of Ukraine.

[back to top]

Source: German Federal Foreign Office

G7 Information Centre

Top of Page
This Information System is provided by the University of Toronto Libraries and the G7 Research Group at the University of Toronto.
Please send comments to: g7@utoronto.ca
This page was last updated February 27, 2022.

All contents copyright © 2023. University of Toronto unless otherwise stated. All rights reserved.